NL FR EN
Africamuseum - Persona
Persona. Ritual Masks and Contemporary Art is a temporary exhibition based on the theme of identity as examined through the mask in the literal and figurative sense.

‘In Latin, Persona referred to the actor’s mask...In a very general way, the persona is the mask worn by each person in order to respond to the demands of life in society’ (Encyclopaedia Universalis).


The exhibition features 180 masks. Over 100 are from the collections of the Royal Museum for Central Africa. The remainder are loans from Belgian private collections and a European project's four partner museums: the Musée du quai Branly in Paris, the Ethnography Museum of Stockholm, the Museo Nazionale Preistorico Etnografico Luigi Pigorini in Rome and the Musée International du Carnaval et du Masque in Binche (Belgium).

These ritual masks are juxtaposed with contemporary works by African artists or African diaspora members, which explore the question of identity, self-respect and representation of the Other.

Persona. Ritual Masks and Contemporary Art is presented as part of Project READ-ME (Réseau européen des Associations de Diasporas & Musées d’Ethnographie, ‘European Network of Diaspora Associations and Ethnography Museums’), which aims to encourage dialogue in Europe between museums and the diasporas whose cultures are represented in their collections.

NL FR EN
Africamuseum - Persona
Persona. Masques rituels et œuvres contemporaines est une exposition temporaire axée sur le thème de l’identité, par le biais du masque considéré au sens propre et figuré.

« En latin, persona désignait le masque de l’acteur. (…) D’une façon très générale, la persona est le masque que tout individu porte pour répondre aux exigences de la vie en société » (Encyclopædia Universalis).


L’exposition présente 180 masques dont plus de cent proviennent des collections du Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale, les autres étant empruntés à des collections privées belges et à 4 musées partenaires d'un projet européen : Musée du quai Branly de Paris, le musée d’Ethnographie de Stockholm, le Museo Nazionale Preistorico Etnografico Luigi Pigorini de Rome et le Musée du Carnaval et du Masque de Binche.

Ces masques rituels sont mis en dialogue avec des œuvres contemporaines créées par des artistes africains ou de la diaspora africaine, et qui explorent la question de l'identité, du respect de soi ou de la représentation de l'Autre.

Persona. Masques rituels et œuvres contemporaines est réalisée dans le cadre du projet européen READ-ME (Réseau européen des Associations de Diasporas & Musées d’Ethnographie), qui vise à encourager le dialogue avec les associations de diasporas installées en Europe et concernées par les collections des musées.