Museum history

Origin of the museum

The origin of the AfricaMuseum dates back to the Brussels International Exposition of 1897.

At King Leopold II’s behest, The ‘Colonial Section’ of the exhibition was moved to the ‘Colonial Palace’ in Tervuren. The exhibition halls were home to naturalised animals, geographic samples, commodities, Congolese ethnographic and artistic objects and art objects created in Belgium. An African village was recreated in the park and this was home to Congolese individuals during the day. Seven of these Congolese died during their time in the village.

Leopold II saw the museum as a propaganda tool for his colonial project, aimed at attracting investors and winning over the Belgian population. It was in 1898 that the temporary exhibition became the first permanent museum of the Congo. The institute has always served the dual purpose of a museum and scientific institute. 
 

An ambitious construction project

Very early on, the Palace of the Colonies turned out to be too small. Leopold II called on the services of Charles Girault, architect of the Petit Palais in Paris, and embarked upon an ambitious construction programme. The plans were for a complete site with a new museum of the Congo, a world school, a congress centre, a station, Chinese pavilions and a sports centre. 

The majority of the profits from the royal private domain of the Congo were used for the construction projects in Belgium.

In 1909, the Congo Free State became Belgian Congo and the museum, the Museum of Belgian Congo. Construction works were brought to a halt.

 

The inauguration in 1910

As Leopold II had died before the works were completed, it was King Albert 1st who inaugurated the museum on 30 April 1910.

The museum benefited from all modern comforts and was a real architectural masterpiece.

 

The Royal Museum of Central Africa

By the Royal Decree of 10 March 1952 the museum became the Royal Museum of the Belgian Congo.

When independence was declared, its name was changed to the Royal Museum of Central Africa, offering a broader range of studies.  Even today, two thirds of the staff and the budget of the AfricaMuseum are dedicated to scientific research.

Histoire du musée

Origine du musée

L’origine de l’AfricaMuseum remonte à l’exposition universelle de Bruxelles en 1897.

Sous l’impulsion du roi Léopold II, La ‘Section Coloniale’ de l’exposition fut déplacée à Tervuren dans le ‘Palais des Colonies’. Les salles accueillaient des animaux naturalisés, des échantillons géologiques, des denrées, des objets ethnographiques et artistiques congolais et des objets d’art réalisés en Belgique. Un village africain qui logeait des Congolais pendant la journée, avait été aménagé dans le parc et a coûté la vie à sept d'entre eux.

Léopold II voyait dans le musée un outil de propagande pour son projet colonial destiné à attirer des investisseurs et à convaincre la population belge. C’est en 1898 que l’exposition temporaire devenait ainsi le premier musée permanent du Congo. Dès ses origines, l’institut était musée et institut scientifique. 
 

Un projet de construction ambitieux

Très vite, le Palais des Colonies s’avéra trop exigu. Léopold II fit appel à Charles Girault, architecte du Petit Palais de Paris, et entreprit un programme de construction ambitieux. Les plans prévoyaient un site complet avec un nouveau musée du Congo, une école mondiale, un centre de congrès, une gare, des pavillons chinois et un complexe sportif. 

La majorité des gains venant du domaine privé royal du Congo fut utilisée pour les projets de construction en Belgique.

En 1909, l’État indépendant du Congo devint le Congo belge et le musée, le Musée du Congo belge. Les travaux de constructions furent suspendus.
 

 

L’inauguration en 1910 

Léopold II étant décédé avant la fin des travaux, c’est  le roi Albert Ier qui inaugura le musée le 30 avril 1910. 

Le musée bénéficiait de tout le confort moderne et était incontestablement un chef-d’œuvre architectural.


Le musée royal de l’Afrique centrale

C’est par Arrêté royal du 10 mars 1952 que le musée devint le Musée royal du Congo belge

À l’indépendance, son nom fut changé en Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale, proposant un champ d’études plus vaste.  Aujourd’hui encore, les deux tiers du personnel et du budget de l’AfricaMuseum sont consacrés à la recherche scientifique.