Temporary exhibition

Unrivalled art

 

This room contains four display cabinets with a significant collection of artistic production in the domain of masks, statuary, sculpted ivory and ‘utilitarian’ art. The pieces brought together here almost all come from Congo and mainly date back to the 19th and the first half of the 20th century. 


Other display cabinets deal with more specific themes, which really touch on considerations specific to the History of Art.
For example, in some it is a matter of trying better to understand the notion of beauty from an African perspective. In other spaces, it is about better understanding the extent to which the Belgian presence modified certain aspects of the production and sale of sculptures in Congo. 
In a different part of the room, researchers will propose an alternative to the study of African material cultures outside the context of ethnography, by developing the discipline of the history of arts in Africa. 

This approach, which owes a lot to the pioneering work of Belgians such as F. M. Olbrechts (former director of the RMCA), makes it possible to develop stylistic and iconographic analysis in African art, but also, and this is of paramount importance, the research carried out by the artist, the Man behind the object.

 

cover booklet

 

Booklet of the exhibition
Unrivalled Art is accompanied by a booklet available in four languages (English, French, Dutch and German). 
The booklet is available in the gallery itself.
Visitors are asked to return the booklet after their visit.
Download the booklet in English (pdf - 2,3 MB)
How to use the booklet?
The numbers on the showcases match the page numbers in the booklet.

  • Numbers on top of the showcase refer to the theme.
  • Numbers on the bottom of the glass panels provide information on objects.
cover book Unrivalled art

 

Unrivalled Art.
Spellbinding Artefacts at the Royal Museum for Central Africa

Series “Collections of the RMCA”, special issue
Published by BAI and the RMCA, A copublication with Philippe de Moerloose
ISBN : 978-9-0858-6776-0
25 €

Order

This exhibition received the support of Philippe de Moerloose.

Exposition temporaire

Art sans pareil

Dans cette salle, quatre vitrines proposent un ensemble significatif de la production artistique dans le domaine du masque, de la statuaire, de l’ivoire sculpté et de l’art « utilitaire ». Les pièces réunies viennent presque toutes du Congo et datent principalement du XIXe siècle et de la première moitié du XXe siècle. 

D’autres vitrines abordent des thématiques plus spécifiques qui touchent véritablement à des réflexions propres à l’Histoire de l’Art.
Il s’agit par exemple dans certaines de tenter de mieux cerner ce que la notion de beauté englobe selon une optique africaine. Dans d’autres espaces, il s’agira de mieux comprendre en quoi la présence belge a modifié certains aspects de la production et de la vente de sculptures au Congo. 
En un endroit différent de la salle, il sera question des chercheurs qui proposèrent une alternative à l’étude des cultures matérielles africaines hors du cadre de l’ethnographie en développant la discipline de l’histoire des arts de l’Afrique. 

Cette approche, qui doit beaucoup aux travaux précurseurs de Belges comme F. M. Olbrechts (ancien directeur du MRAC), permit de développer l’analyse stylistique et iconographique en art africain, mais aussi, et cela est primordial, la recherche de l’artiste, de l’Homme derrière l’objet.

 

couverture livret

 

Livret  de l'exposition
L’exposition se visite avec un livret, disponible dans la salle en français, néerlandais, anglais et allemand.
Le livret est disponible dans la salle.
Les visiteurs sont priés de remettre le livret avant de quitter la salle.
Mode d'emploi du livret :
Les numéros figurant sur les vitrines correspondent à des numéros de page :

  • le numéro situé au-dessus de chaque vitrine renvoie au thème qui lui correspond.
  • les numéros figurant au bas des vitrines renvoient aux descriptions des objets.

Télécharger gratuitement le livret en français (pdf - 2,3 MB)

Couverture du livre Art sans pareil

 

Art sans pareil. Objets merveilleux du Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale

Série « Collections du MRAC », édition spéciale
Publié par BAI et le MRAC, en coédition avec Philippe de Moerloose
ISBN : 978-9-0858-6777-7
25 €

Commander

 

Cette exposition a reçu le soutien de Philippe de Moerloose.