Partnerships

Public partners - Federal Government of Belgium
  • Belgian Federal Scientific Policy Office (Belspo)
    Belspo coordinates the various scientific policies at federal level and is the supervisory administration of the ten federal scientific institutions (Institute for Space Aeronomy, Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences, Royal Institute for Cultural Heritage, Royal Library of Belgium, Royal Meteorological Institute of Belgium, Royal Museums for Art And History, Royal Museums of Fine Arts of Belgium, Royal Museum for Central Africa, Royal Observatory of Belgium, State Archives). The RMCA collaborates closely with the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences with which he shares the same Management Committee.
     
  • DGD (Directorate-General Development Cooperation)
    The DGD is the AfricaMuseum’s main partner in financing its development cooperation activities. Its support helps strengthen the scientific capacity and national museums in Africa and helps disseminate knowledge in Africa to a wide audience and the scientific community. 
    Since 2016 the AfricaMuseum has been running the Digital for Development award (D4D) with the support of the DGD.
     
  • Belgian Buildings Agency
    The Belgian Buildings Agency owns and administrates the buildings of the AfricaMuseum and the surrounding park. It is responsible for the renovation and restoration of the museum's old building, as well as the construction of the new reception pavilion and underground gallery. 
     
  • Belgian National Lottery
    The Belgian National Lottery is a key sponsor of the AfricaMuseum, supporting both the renovation project and the temporary and scientific exhibitions.
     
  • National Bank of Belgium
    The National Bank of Belgium has provided financial support for the renovation project.
Cultural and tourism partners
  • Visit Flanders
    Visit Flanders works to develop tourism in and to Brussels and Flanders.
    The AfricaMuseum, the Ghent Museum of Fine Arts and the provincial estate of Raversijde are participating in its pilot project for a "familievriendelijk erfgoed"(family friendly heritage), also supported by FARO and Herita. 
     
  • Visit Brussels
    Visit Brussels is the Brussels tourist agency. Its mission is to bolster and promote the image of the Brussels-Capital Region. The AfricaMuseum is considered by many tourists to Brussels as "worth seeing". 
     
  • BOZAR 
    BOZAR has hosted the AfricaMuseum for four years in its ‘Studio Congo’. The two institutions have established a firm partnership, which should continue after the reopening of the museum. The Afropean spirit is important to us.
     
  • Brussels Museums Council non-profit organisation
    The AfricaMuseum was one of the first museums to join this federative organisation of Brussels museums. It encourages museums to improve and diversify their range and promotes them via projects like Museum Night Fever, Brussels Museums Nocturnes (Late Night Openings), the Brussels Card, and the Brussels Museums Map. 
Mediapartners

 

Logo De Standaard

 

Logo Kalara


 

Logo Le Soir

 


 




Logo RTBF

 

 

Scientific networks

The RMCA is part of dozens of international scientific networks in natural and human sciences. Here are a few examples.
 

GeoRiskA – Georisks in Africa

For many years now, the RMCA has been carrying out research projects on natural risks in the region of the East African Rift. As the projects progressed, the RMCA has developed a major network of partners, made up of universities and research institutes:

  • Université officielle de Bukavu (UOB)
  • Institut supérieur pédagogique de Bukavu (ISP Bukavu)
  • Institut geographique du Congo (IGC)
  • Centre de Recherche en Sciences naturelles (CRSN) of Lwiro
  • Observatoire volcanologique de Goma (OVG)
  • The Institut national de Statistiques of North Kivu (INS)
  • Civil Defence of North Kivu
  • Civil Defence of South Kivu
  • The Geology Department of the University of Burundi (UB)
  • The Rwanda Mining Board (RMB)
  • The Lake Kivu Monitoring Program (LKMP - Rwanda)

> Natural risks and cartography department
 

European Journal of Taxonomy

The European Journal of Taxonomy (EJT) is an international scientific review for peer review published by a European consortium of natural history museums. The RMCA is a founding member of this open access review.

> More information
 

SWICH – Sharing a World of Inclusion, Creativity and Heritage

SWICH is a project which is part of Creative Europe and which continues a long tradition initiated by the successive projects READ-ME, READ-ME II and RIME. This series of projects includes a critical reflection on the role of ethnography museums in contemporary society in Europe.

> More information on the SWICH website

> Creative Europe 
 

FishBase

FishBase is the biggest online database dedicated to fish. It contains information on more than 33,000 known species of fish around the world. The FishBase Consortium brings together 10 international research institutes. The RMCA is one of the founding members.

> FishBase

> FishBase for Africa

> FishBase course in the museum
 

Belgian Network for DNA Barcoding (BeBol)

The goal of this project is to create a network of Belgian research units for DNA Barcoding.

> More information on the BeBol website
 

CETAF – Consortium of European Taxonomical Facilities

The Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities is a network of scientific institutions in Europe formed with a view to promoting training, research and the understanding of the biological and paleontological systematic.

> Website of the CETAF
 

GBIF – Global Biodiversity Information Facility

The goal of the Global Biodiversity Information Facility is to provide free information on Biodiversity that is freely accessible to all. Numerous suppliers of data on biodiversity throughout the world are connected to the GBIF, providing access to millions of recordings (specimens and observations).

> Website of the GBIF 
 

TDWG – Taxonomical Database Working Group

The Taxonomical Database Working Group closely collaborates with the GBIF. Created in 1986 with a view to encouraging international collaboration when it comes to biological databases, the TDWG has become an official body as regards standards for the exchange of information linked to biodiversity and associated IT tools.

> Website of the TDWG
 

The Congo Free State Across Language, Culture, Media

Funded by the NWO (the Netherlands), the international research network ‘The Congo Free State Across Language, Culture, Media’ is a collaboration between Uppsala University, the Royal Museum for Central Africa, Leeds Beckett University and the Open University Amsterdam. Exploring the famous myth of the ‘the heart of darkness’, this project is the first to analyse the Congo Free State under Leopold II (1885–1908) as a space for international cultural encounters with a significant impact on world at the turn of the century, by way of an analysis of cultural production through languages, media (literature, photography, etc.) and culture (Europe, USA, Africa). On 18 October 2017, the History and Politics Department hosted the international workshop ‘Congo Free State: What archives and collections have to say’. The materials presented during this workshop will be published in 2019 in the ‘Over-Seas’ series, P.I.E. Peter Lang Editions.

> Website

> History and Politics Department

Partenariats

Partenariats publics - Gouvernement fédéral belge
  • SPP Politique scientifique (Belspo)
    Belspo coordonne les diverses politiques scientifiques au niveau fédéral et est l'administration de tutelle des dix établissements scientifiques fédéraux (Archives de l'Etat, Bibliothèque royale de Belgique, Institut d'Aéronomie spatiale de Belgique, Institut royal météorologique de Belgique, Musées royaux d’Art et d’Histoire, Musées royaux des Beaux-Arts de Belgique, Institut royal des Sciences naturelles, Observatoire royal de Belgique, Institut royal du Patrimoine artistique).
    Le MRAC collabore plus spécialement avec l'Institut royal des Sciences naturelles avec lequel il partage la même commission de gestion. 
     
  • DGD (Direction générale Coopération au développement)
    La DGD est le principal partenaire de l’AfricaMuseum pour le financement de ses activités en matière de coopération au développement. Son soutien permet de renforcer les institutions scientifiques et musées nationaux en Afrique et de contribuer à la diffusion des connaissances en Afrique auprès d’un large public et du monde scientifique.
    Depuis 2016, l’AfricaMuseum organise, avec le soutien de la DGD, le Prix Numérisation pour le Développement (D4D).
     
  • Régie des Bâtiments
    La Régie des Bâtiments est propriétaire et gestionnaire des bâtiments de l’AfricaMuseum et du parc environnant. C’est elle qui a pris en charge la rénovation et la restauration de l’ancien bâtiment du musée, ainsi que la construction du nouveau pavillon d’accueil et de la galerie souterraine. 
     
  • Loterie nationale
    La Loterie Nationale est un des sponsors principaux de l’AfricaMuseum en soutenant à la fois le projet de rénovation, les expositions temporaires et de l'achat de matériel scientifique.
     
  • Banque Nationale de Belgique
    La Banque Nationale de Belgique offre son soutien financier au projet de rénovation.
Partenaires culturels et touristiques
  • Toerisme Vlaanderen
    Toerisme Vlaanderen veut développer le tourisme à et vers Bruxelles et la Flandre.
    L’AfricaMuseum, le Museum voor Schone Kunsten de Gand et le domaine provincial de Raversyde participent à leur projet pilote d’un « familievriendelijk erfgoed »(patrimoine accessible aux familles, soutenu également par FARO et Herita). 
    Toerisme Vlaanderen a également soutenu le projet de rénovation.
     
  • Visit Brussels
    Visit Brussels est l’agence bruxelloise du tourisme. Sa mission est d’étendre et de renforcer l’image de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. L’AfricaMuseum est considéré par pas mal de touristes à Bruxelles comme un ‘vaut le détour’.
     
  • BOZAR 
    BOZAR a accueilli l’AfricaMuseum pendant quatre années dans son foyer "Studio Congo. Ils ont établi une collaboration forte qui veut s’épanouir davantage après la réouverture du musée. L’esprit Afropean nous est très proche.
     
  • Conseil bruxellois des Musées asbl
    L’AfricaMuseum était l’un des premiers musées à intégrer cette organisation fédérative des musées bruxellois. Elle encourage les musées à améliorer et diversifier leur offre et en assure la promotion avec par exemple la Museum Night Fever, les Nocturnes des Musées bruxellois, la Brussels Card, le plan des Musées…
Partenaires éducatifs
  • Annoncer la couleur
    Annoncer la couleur est un programme fédéral d’Éducation à la citoyenneté mondiale et solidaire en milieu scolaire et un partenaire important du musée pour la diffusion de son offre pédagogique vers le monde scolaire.
     
  • Place aux enfants
    Chaque année, le musée participe à cet événement qui fait découvrir aux enfants le monde des adultes.
     
  • Dag van de wetenschap
    L’AfricaMuseum participe chaque année à cette Journée de la science qui est le plus grand événement scientifique en Flandre et à Bruxelles.
     
  • FIFF (Festival international du film francophone)
    Chaque année, l'AfricaMuseum est partenaire du FIFF campus, dédié aux écoles, et propose à cette occasion des ateliers qui prolongent la réflexion suscitée par un film.
     
  • Kunst voor ketjes
    Le musée collabore avec LASSO dans le cadre du projet « Kunst voor Ketjes », qui aide les associations pour enfants bruxelloises à trouver et organiser des excursions culturelles pour des groupes d’enfants entre 3 et 12 ans.
     
  • Krokuskriebels
    Cette initiative de deux ans du Gezinsbond entend encourager les familles à visiter des musées pendant les vacances de carnaval.
     
  • Bijzonder Comité voor Herinneringseducatie
    Cette organisation soutient les enseignants et leurs projets en matière d’éducation à la mémoire, leur offre un aperçu clair de l’offre existante et organise des formations. 
Partenaires d'entreprise

 

  • TEXAF

    Sponsor de l'AfricaMuseum rénové.
    Texaf-Bilembo Kinshasa est sponsor pour AfricaTube.
     

  • Puilaetco Dewaay

    Sponsor de l'AfricaMuseum rénové.
    Puilaetco Dewaay Private Bankers fête en 2018 son 150e anniversaire, dans le cadre de et au profit de l'AfricaMuseum.
     

  • Ackermans & Van Haaren
    Sponsor de l'AfricaMuseum rénové.
     
  • KBC
    Sponsor de l'AfricaMuseum rénové.
     
  • Umicore
    Umicore encourage l'effort du Musée royal de l'Afrique centrale de présenter le développement durable de l'Afrique centrale d'aujourd'hui en rapport avec l'Europe. Il facilite la recherche doctorale des étudiants africains sous la (co-) supervision de scientifiques du MRAC.
     
  • Groupe Adecco
     
  • L'AfricaMuseum remercie les plus de 100 donateurs privés dont la famille Philippe Croonenberghs et Philippe de Moerloose.
    L'AfricaMuseum remercie tout spécialement Madame Christine Coene, veuve de Luc Coene, habitant de Tervuren et ami de l'AfricaMuseum, et qui était président du comité de sponsoring.
     
Partenaires médias

 

Logo De Standaard

 

Logo Kalara


 

Logo Le Soir

 


 




Logo RTBF

 

  •  

 

Réseaux scientifiques

Le MRAC fait partie de dizaines de réseaux scientifiques internationaux en sciences naturelles et humaines. En voici quelques exemples.
 

GeoRiskA – Georisks in Africa

Depuis de nombreuses années, le MRAC mène des projets de recherche sur les risques naturels dans la région du Rift est-africain. Au fil des projets, le MRAC a développé un important réseau de partenaires, constitué d’universités et d’instituts de recherches :

  • Université officielle de Bukavu (UOB)
  • Institut supérieur pédagogique de Bukavu (ISP Bukavu)
  • Institut géographique du Congo (IGC)
  • Centre de Recherche en Sciences naturelles (CRSN) de Lwiro
  • Observatoire volcanologique de Goma (OVG)
  • L’Institut national de Statistiques au Nord-Kivu (INS)
  • La Protection civile du Nord-Kivu
  • La Protection civile du Sud-Kivu
  • Le département de Géologie de l’Université du Burundi (UB)
  • Le Rwanda Mining Board (RMB)
  • Le Lake Kivu Monitoring Program (LKMP - Rwanda)

> Service Risques naturels et cartographie
 

European Journal of Taxonomy

Le European Journal of Taxonomy (EJT) est une revue scientifique internationale à peer review publiée par un consortium européen de musées d’histoire naturelle. Le MRAC est membre fondateur de cette revue open access.

> Plus d’infos
 

SWICH – Sharing a World of Inclusion, Creativity and Heritage

SWICH est un projet qui s’inscrit dans le cadre de Creative Europe et qui prolonge une longue tradition initiée par les projets successifs READ-ME, READ-ME II et RIME. Cette série de projets comporte une réflexion critique sur le rôle des musées d'ethnographie dans la société actuelle en Europe.

> Plus d’infos sur le site web de SWICH

> Creative Europe
 

FishBase

FishBase est la plus importante base de données en ligne consacrée aux poissons. Elle contient des informations sur les plus de 33 000 espèces de poissons connues au monde. Le Consortium FishBAse regroupe 10 instituts de recherches internationaux. Le MRAC est l’un des membres fondateurs.

> FishBase

> FishBase for Africa

> Stage FishBase au musée
 

Belgian Network for DNA Barcoding (BeBol)

Ce projet vise à créer un réseau d’unités de recherche belges pour le Barcoding ADN.

> Plus d’infos sur le site web de BeBol
 

CETAF – Consortium of European Taxonomical Facilities

Le Consortium of European Taxonomic Facilities est un réseau d’institutions scientifiques en Europe constitué en vue de promouvoir la formation, la recherche et la compréhension de la systématique biologique et paléontologique.

> Site web du CETAF
 

GBIF – Global Biodiversity Information Facility

Le Global Biodiversity Information Facility a pour vocation de rendre l’information sur la Biodiversité gratuitement et librement accessible à tous. De nombreux fournisseurs de données sur la biodiversité du monde entier sont connectés au GBIF, donnant accès des millions d’enregistrements (spécimens et observations).

> Site web du GBIF 
 

TDWG – Taxonomical Database Working Group

Le Taxonomical Database Working Group collabore étroitement avec le GBIF. Créé en 1986 en vue de favoriser la collaboration internationale en matière de bases de données biologiques, le TDWG est devenu un organe officiel en matière de standards pour l’échange de l’information liée à la biodiversité et des outils informatiques associés.

> Site web du TDWG
 

The Congo Free State Across Language, Culture, Media

Financé par le NWO (Pays-Bas), le réseau international de recherche « The Congo Free State Across Language, Culture, Media » est une collaboration entre Uppsala University, le Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale, Leeds Beckett University et l’Open University Amsterdam. Explorant le célèbre mythe du « cœur des ténèbres », ce projet est le premier à analyser l’État indépendant du Congo sous Leopold II (1885-1908) comme espace de rencontres culturelles internationales avec un impact significatif sur le monde fin-de-siècle, par une analyse de la production culturelle à travers langues, médias (littérature, photographie, etc.) et culture (Europe, États-Unis, Afrique). Le 18 octobre 2017, le service Histoire et Politique accueillait le workshop international « Congo Free State: What archives and collections have to say ». Les communications présentées lors de ce workshop seront publiées en 2019 dans la série « Outre-Mers », P.I.E. Peter Lang Editions.

> Site web

> Service Histoire et Politique