Digital tours and virtual reality

Visit the museum with the Faro Heritage App

Download the Faro Heritage App for access to specific tours on your smartphone.  
The information in the app is activated by a Bluetooth signal (beacon) or by scanning an image or object.

More information about the Heritage App.

 

  • Wetenschapper aan het woord.

    Meet the expert

    Director Guido Gryseels welcomes you to the museum and explains the history and the renovation of the museum, after which our scientists take you along the highlights of the collection and explain the design of the room they are responsible for. In the Grand Rotunda, artists Aimé Mpane and Jean-Pierre Müller talk about their joint artistic project.

    Free - for all ages - in English, French or Dutch.

  • Gallery Rituals and Ceremonies

    Provenance of collections

    The bulk of the museum’s collections dates back to the colonial period. In recent years, and especially since the museum reopened in 2018, questions have been raised regarding the provenance of the ethnographic collections in particular, which were assembled during the colonial era.   
    This circuit stops at several pieces of varied provenance and gives a nuanced presentation of the complexities of acquisition, conservation, appropriation, accessibility, and restitution. 

    Free - for all ages - in English, French or Dutch.

    More info on the provenance of objects

  • de zaal weergaloze kunst

    From the collection

    "From the collection" is an changing evolving display complementing, in addition to the permanent exhibition. Unrivalled art, the first exhibition in the series presents four display cases with a remarkable ensemble of artistic pieces, composed of masks, statuary, ivory carvings, and ‘utilitarian’ art. Other showcases highlight themes that touch on aspects specific to the History of Art. 

    Free - for all ages - in English, French or Dutch.

Parcours en ligne et réalité virtuelle

Visites guidées sur smartphone avec l'application Patrimoine de FARO

Téléchargez l'application Patrimoine développée par Faro et explorez le musée avec l'une des visites guidées sur votre smartphone.

L'information est activée par un signal bluetooth (beacon) ou par un scan de l'objet (réalité augmentée).

Plus d'information sur l'App Patrimoine

 

  • Wetenschapper aan het woord.

    La parole aux experts

    Guido Gryseels, directeur, vous accueille et vous parle de l’histoire et de la rénovation du musée. Les scientifiques vous font découvrir les moments forts de l’exposition et vous expliquent la conception de la salle dont ils sont responsables. Dans la grande rotonde, les artistes Aimé Mpane et Jean-Pierre Müller vous présentent leur projet artistique commun.

    Gratuit - pour tous - en français, néerlandais ou anglais.

  • Gallery Rituals and Ceremonies

    Parcours de provenance

    La majeure partie des collections du musée datent de la période coloniale. Depuis quelques années déjà, et surtout depuis la réouverture de l’AfricaMuseum en 2018, la provenance des collections et principalement des collections ethnographiques suscite des interrogations.
    Ce parcours met en lumière des objets de provenances diverses et donne une image nuancée de la complexité que représentent l’acquisition, la conservation, l’appropriation, l’accessibilité et la restitution.

    Gratuit - pour tous - en français, néerlandais ou anglais.

    Plus d’informations sur la provenance des objets

  • de zaal weergaloze kunst

    Issus de la collection

    "Issus de la collection" est une présentation changeante, en marge de l’exposition permanente. 
    Art sans pareil, la première exposition de cette série, présente quatre vitrines qui proposent un ensemble significatif de la production artistique dans le domaine du masque, de la statuaire, de l’ivoire sculpté et de l’art « utilitaire ». D’autres vitrines abordent des thématiques plus spécifiques qui touchent véritablement à des réflexions propres à l’Histoire de l’Art.

    Gratuit - pour tous - en français, néerlandais ou anglais.