Restitution policy of the Royal Museum for Central Africa

Approved by the Director’s Advisory Committee on 31 January 2020
  1. In the ongoing debate regarding the restitution of African cultural heritage, the RMCA takes an open and constructive position. It is an active participant in the dialogue with authorities and museum policy representatives, and with Belgians of African descent from the relevant countries. The RMCA acknowledges that it is not normal for such a large part of African cultural heritage to be found in the West, given that the countries of origin have moral ownership of such heritage. It also recognises that its collections were acquired in part during the colonial period in the context of a policy of legal inequality: people were forced or placed under pressure to abandon objects, and they were too weak to negotiate the price when they wished to sell objects. During the Congo Free State period, certain objects were obtained using methods that were then illegal in Belgium, such as looting, hostage-taking, or desecration. Dialogue with all the parties involved is crucial. To facilitate such dialogue, the RMCA is providing the inventory of its collections for consultation. It is making every effort to publish the inventory of all its ethnographic collections and archives online.
     
  2. From a legal standpoint, the collections of the RMCA are the inalienable property of the federal state and belong to federal heritage. Restitution can only be decided upon by the federal minister for Science Policy within a strict legal framework and would require approval by parliament. Long-term loans can be approved by the director-general of the RMCA.
     
  3. Given that the method and circumstances are unclear with regard to the acquisition of part of the collections, the RMCA shall prioritise research on the provenance of its collections. African scientists will also participate in this effort through, among others, a new Scientist-in-Residence programme as well as a Visiting Scientist programme.
     
  4. There is still significant cultural heritage present in Congo and Rwanda, and these countries wish to pursue a collaboration in reinforcing their capacities. The RMCA shall continue to invest in capacity-building for African museums in the areas of collection management and restoration, storage, digitisation of inventories and archives, and public-oriented activities. The RMCA has close partnerships with the Institut des musées nationaux du Congo (IMNC), the Rwanda Cultural Heritage Academy (formerly National Museums of Rwanda), and the Musée des civilisations noires (MCN) in Dakar, Senegal. With these museums, the RMCA has a vast five-year collaboration programme for collection management and restoration, educational and public-oriented activities, the digitisation of inventories and archives, and joint and travelling exhibitions.
     
  5. To allow faster and easier access to its collections, the RMCA will step up its efforts to digitise the archives, photos, and films in its possession so that these can be made available online, and digital copies thereof can be transferred to the relevant countries. A pilot project is ongoing with Rwanda. A travelling exhibition on speakers of Bantu languages is in preparation with the MCN and the CICIBA (Gabon).
     
  6. The RMCA will advise the relevant minister on the possibility of returning physical objects, provided there is a formal petition from a recognised authority and following a detailed investigation on the manner in which the requested objects were acquired. Objects of great symbolic value to the countries concerned, as well as those acquired through violence or plunder, will be considered a priority. To establish these priorities, the RMCA shall be open to contributions and questions from the diaspora, African academics, and local communities in the relevant countries. In the event of a formal and pertinent request for restitution, the director-general of the RMCA shall form a working group composed of internal and external scientific experts of the relevant collection, representatives of the RMCA scientific and public-oriented services, as well as relevant representatives from Africa and the African diaspora in Belgium. This working group shall then advise the federal minister for Science Policy on the specific question. 
     
  7. Recent evolutions of the Belgian legal framework regarding restitution
    (updated in October 2021)
    There is currently no legal framework for restitution in Belgium. In 2018, former Federal Secretary of State for Science Policy Zuhal Demir announced the creation of a working group for this purpose, which was tasked to draft a framework with clear criteria for the possible restitution of collections and human remains. Priority was to be given to collections of great symbolic value or acquired through looting or theft, and to the return of human remains. In addition, special attention was to be given to collections that would complement those present in the countries concerned and render them more representative. A few months after this announcement, the government fell and no concrete follow-up to this announcement was given.
    In July 2020, a parliamentary Special Commission was set up 'to investigate the Congo Free State (1885-1908) and the Belgian colonial past in Congo (1908-1960), Rwanda and Burundi (1919-1962), its impact and the consequences to be given to it'.
    At a press conference organised at the AfricaMuseum on 6 July 2021, State Secretary Thomas Dermine explained his approach to the restitution of cultural objects looted from Congo during the colonial period.
    In order to overcome the difficulty of operationalising the restitution and to deal with the symbolic issue without delay, I proposed to the Belgian Government to apply two principles:
    1. It is important to legally recognise the alienability for restitution purposes of property from the colonial past, i.e. property acquired during the period 1885-1960. The legal character of alienability symbolically acts that - in the absence of certainty as to the consequences of the possession of these objects by Belgium - they are likely to be alienated for restitution purposes. This is therefore a prerequisite for serenely opening up the provenance studies and increasing scientific knowledge about these objects.
    2. The proposed approach is intended first and foremost to initiate a dialogue with the authorities of the Democratic Republic of the Congo in order to provide them with a framework to facilitate the return of legal ownership of all property for which a provenance study concludes that its possession by Belgium is illegitimate. This transfer of legal ownership must take place immediately, regardless of whether a claim for physical restitution has been made. With this transfer of legal ownership, the legitimate owner - the Congolese state - is recognised as having the right to request material restitution, based on strengthened scientific and cultural collaboration. I would like to build this framework jointly with my Congolese counterparts and allow it to be based on a joint scientific commission, which brings together scientists from our two countries.

    The State Secretary plans to operationalise this restitution policy from the beginning of 2022.

DISCLAIMER: The English version is a translation of the original in Dutch for information purposes only. In case of a discrepancy, the Dutch original shall prevail.

Politique de restitution du Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale

Approuvé par le Conseil de direction du 31 janvier 2020
  1. Dans le débat en cours sur la restitution du patrimoine culturel africain, le MRAC adopte une approche ouverte et constructive. Il participe activement au dialogue avec les représentants de la politique muséale et des autorités et avec les Belges d’origine africaine des pays concernés. Il reconnaît qu'il n'est pas normal qu'une partie aussi importante du patrimoine culturel africain se trouve en Occident, alors que les pays d'origine en sont en fait les propriétaires moraux. Le MRAC reconnaît également que ses collections ont été en partie acquises au cours de la période coloniale dans le contexte d’une politique d’inégalité légale : les gens étaient forcés ou mis sous pression pour abandonner des objets, ils étaient trop faibles pour négocier le prix quand ils voulaient vendre des objets. Pendant la période de l’Etat Indépendant du Congo certains objets ont été acquis avec des méthodes qui étaient alors illégales en Belgique, comme le pillage, la prise d’otages ou la profanation. Le dialogue avec tous les acteurs impliqués est crucial. Pour faciliter ce dialogue, le MRAC met à disposition l’inventaire de ses collections. Le MRAC s’efforce de mettre en ligne l’inventaire de toutes ses collections ethnographiques et archives.
     
  2. D'un point de vue juridique, les collections du MRAC sont la propriété inaliénable de l'État fédéral et appartiennent au patrimoine fédéral. La décision de restitution ne peut être prise que par le ministre fédéral de la Politique scientifique, dans un cadre juridique strict, et nécessite l'approbation du parlement. Les prêts à long terme peuvent être décidés par le directeur général du MRAC.
     
  3. Étant donné qu’il n’est pas clair comment et dans quelles circonstances une partie de ses collections a été acquise, le MRAC accordera priorité à la recherche de provenance de ses collections. Des scientifiques africains y participeront également, entre autres grâce à un nouveau programme de Scientist-in-Residence et à un programme Visiting Scientist.
     
  4. Il existe toujours un patrimoine culturel important au Congo et au Rwanda et ces pays demandent une collaboration pour le renforcement de leurs capacités. Le MRAC continuera à investir dans le renforcement des capacités de musées africains en matière de gestion et de restauration des collections, de stockage, de numérisation d'inventaires et d'archives et des activités orientées vers le public. Le MRAC a des partenariats étroits avec l'Institut des musées nationaux du Congo (IMNC), la Rwanda Cultural Heritage Academy (anciennement les National Museums of Rwanda) et le Musée des civilisations noires (MCN) à Dakar. Avec ces musées, le MRAC a un vaste programme quinquennal de collaboration pour la gestion et la restauration des collections, des activités éducatives et orientées vers le public, la numérisation des inventaires et des archives, ainsi que des expositions communes et itinérantes.
     
  5. Afin de permettre un accès aux collections plus rapide et plus facile, le MRAC intensifiera ses efforts pour numériser les archives, les photos et les films en sa possession afin de les rendre accessibles en ligne et d’en permettre la transmission sous forme numérique aux pays concernés. Un projet pilote est actuellement en cours avec le Rwanda. Une exposition itinérante sur les peuples parlant des langues bantu est en préparation avec le MCN et le CICIBA (Gabon).
     
  6. Le MRAC conseillera le ministre compétent sur la possibilité d’un retour physique d’objets, à condition qu’il y ait une question formelle d’une autorité reconnue et après une étude approfondie de la manière dont les objets demandés ont été acquis. Les objets ayant une grande valeur symbolique pour les pays concernés, ainsi que ceux acquis par la violence ou le pillage, seront considérés comme prioritaires. Pour cette fixation de priorités, le MRAC sera également ouvert aux contributions et aux questions de la diaspora, des universitaires africains et des communautés locales des pays concernés. En cas de demande de restitution pertinente et formelle, le directeur général du MRAC constituera un groupe de travail composé d'experts scientifiques internes et externes de la collection concernée, de représentants des services scientifiques et orientés vers le public du MRAC, ainsi que de représentants concernés d’Afrique et de la diaspora africaine en Belgique. Ce groupe de travail conseillera ensuite le ministre fédéral de la Politique scientifique sur la question spécifique.
     
  7. Évolutions récentes du cadre juridique belge en matière de restitution
    (mis à jour en octobre 2021)
    Il n'existe actuellement aucun cadre juridique pour la restitution en Belgique. L'ancienne secrétaire d'état fédéral à la politique scientifique Zuhal Demir a annoncé en 2018 la création d'un groupe de travail à cette fin, qui devait élaborer un cadre avec des critères clairs pour une éventuelle restitution de collections et de restes humains. La priorité devait être donnée aux collections d’une grande valeur symbolique, ou provenant de pillages ou de vols, et au retour de restes humains. Une attention particulière devait également être accordée aux collections qui complètent les collections existantes dans les pays concernés et les rendent plus représentatives. Quelques mois après cette annonce, le gouvernement est tombé et une suite concrète à cette annonce n'a pas été donnée.
    En juillet 2020, une Commission parlementaire spéciale a été mise en place "chargée d’examiner l'État Indépendant du Congo (1885-1908) et le passé colonial de la Belgique au Congo (1908-1960), au Rwanda et au Burundi (1919-1962), ses conséquences et les suites qu'il convient d’y réserver".
    Le 6 juillet 2021, le secrétaire d’État à la politique scientifique fédérale Thomas Dermine présentait lors d’une conférence de presse organisée à l’AfricaMuseum son approche en matière de restitution des biens culturels spoliés au Congo pendant la période coloniale.
    Afin de surmonter la difficulté de l’opérationnalisation de la restitution et de traiter sans attendre la question symbolique, il a proposé au Gouvernement belge d’appliquer deux principes :
    1. Il est important de reconnaitre juridiquement le caractère aliénable à des fins de restitution des biens issus du passé colonial, c’est-à dire des biens acquis durant la période 1885-1960. Le caractère juridique d’aliénabilité acte symboliquement que – en l’absence de certitude quant aux conséquences de la possession de ces objets par la Belgique – ceux-ci sont susceptibles d’être aliénés à des fins de restitution. On pose donc un préalable pour ouvrir sereinement le chantier des études de provenance et d’augmenter la connaissance scientifique à propos de ces objets.
    2. L’approche proposée se veut être avant tout l’entame d’un dialogue avec les autorités de la République démocratique du Congo afin de leur proposer un cadre qui permette de faciliter la restitution de la propriété juridique pour tous les biens pour lesquels une étude de provenance conclura au caractère illégitime de sa possession par la Belgique. Ce transfert de propriété juridique doit intervenir immédiatement, peu importe qu’une demande de restitution matérielle ait été formulée ou non. Avec ce transfert de propriété juridique, on reconnait au propriétaire légitime – l’État congolais – le droit de demander la restitution matérielle en s’appuyant sur des collaborations scientifiques et culturelles renforcées. Ce cadre, je souhaite le co-construire avec mes homologues congolais et lui permettre de s’appuyer sur une commission scientifique mixte, qui allie des scientifiques de nos deux pays.

    Le Secrétaire d'Etat prévoit de rendre opérationnelle cette politique de restitution dès le début de l'année 2022.