The viewpoints of the museum

What is the museum’s position on colonization today?

Colonialism is a form of government based on military occupation, authoritarian and racist administration, and exploitation. The museum therefore explicitly distances itself from it. It takes responsibility for the impact that its previous propaganda for colonialism has had on the multicultural society of today, and for the message of Western moral and intellectual superiority it has conveyed in the past.

The museum intends to be a forum for opinions and views on the historical, current and future relationship with Central Africa. A number of historians have given an interesting state of affairs on colonial history through opinion articles in the Belgian media:

In Dutch:

In French:

 

How does the museum reflect on the regime of the Congo Free State?

From 1885 to 1908, King Leopold II was the sovereign ruler of the Congo Free State. He used the region as a capitalist colony. In particular, the exploitation of rubber and ivory was accompanied by excessive violence. Conquest wars, exploitation, forced labour, punitive expeditions, the displacement of populations, the disruption of agriculture, epidemics, and the introduction of previously unknown diseases resulted in the wide-scale death of many Congolese. Moreover, the birth rate has fallen sharply. In the absence of precise data, it is very difficult to determine how many victims the Congo Free State has made, but the total population deficit runs into the hundreds of thousands and, according to recent estimates by Belgian and Congolese historians, it may even be several million. Some even talk of one third of the total population.

 

What is the museum’s position on the restitution of African cultural heritage?

The vast majority of African art heritage is found in Western museums and private collections.

The RMCA’s collections were also largely established during the colonial period. This inevitably raises questions about the way in which they were acquired, and therefore also about their possible return to their country of origin. The museum participates with an open and constructive attitude in the debates that are being held on this subject and does not shy away from discussions about the future of African cultural heritage in Europe.

Between 1976 and 1982, the RMCA transferred 114 ethnographic artefacts to the Institut des Musées Nationaux du Zaïre in Kinshasa. It also transferred some 600 objects to the National Museum of Rwanda in Butare.

The RMCA has not received any recent formal requests for restitution but is willing to enter into a dialogue with the national museums of the countries concerned. It has partnerships with the national museums of DR Congo and Rwanda, and with the Musée des Civilisations Noires in Dakar. Currently, the museum is developing a policy to facilitate access to its collections for African museums. It is digitalizing cultural heritage such as archives, photographs and films, and will transfer them in that form to the countries concerned. Furthermore, the RMCA is intensifying provenance research into artefacts that may have been acquired illegally.

See also the RMCA Committee of Directors position on restitution. In French or in Dutch.

 

Black Lives Matter

Statement by the museum, June 11 2020

On June 3rd, the AfricaMuseum announced its support for the #BlackLivesMatter movement at the museum entrance and on social media. In fact, the museum was established in 1898 as a scientific institution for the dissemination of colonial propaganda and support of colonial activities in Belgium. The museum has long conveyed a message of Western supremacy, deeply rooted in racism. We acknowledge this and we see the fight against racism as part of our own decolonisation process. We regard colonialism as an immoral form of governance, based on military occupation of a country, authoritarian and racist governance, and exploitation of a country's wealth for the benefit of the coloniser.

Immediately after our post, some activists condemned our message to support the #BlackLivesMatter movement, because they thought it was hypocritical. Some even felt that we were appropriating a battle that was not ours. Of course, that was not our intention. We regret that this action has offended some people.

We are well aware that the museum, through its history, has played an important role in Belgium and Europe in creating prejudices against Africans. We are convinced that today the museum has immense potential as an awareness-raising tool and as a forum for debate on fundamental themes in our society, such as colonial history or racism and its roots in colonial propaganda. These topics are important themes in our permanent exhibition, and are regularly the focus of events organised by the museum.

We are also aware that the museum keeps objects in its collections of which it is not the moral owner. Part of the museum's collections were acquired in a context of violence, injustice and unequal relations, especially during the period of Congo Free State. This story is also told in our permanent exhibition and we actively participate in the ongoing debates on the return of African cultural heritage, and in a dialogue with involved African actors. We enter into an open and constructive dialogue with representatives from the museum field and with Belgian and African authorities, as well as with Belgians of African origin. Our policy on restitution is transparent and is explained on our website. In this context, we have also set up a residency programme for independent African scientists to investigate the circumstances in which these collections were acquired. The AfricaMuseum also has a strict code of ethics for the organisation of events.

We would also like to point out that the sculpture group with the bust of Leopold II located in the park near the museum does not fall under our jurisdiction, but under that of the park management. Nevertheless, since the beginning of the 21st century, the museum has been undergoing a process of decolonisation and we feel it is essential to contextualize the statues of controversial figures from the colonial period, such as Leopold II. In this context, we encourage the local authorities to engage in a dialogue with the communities for whom these statues represent a strong and painful symbol of the colonial period. Thus, the museum takes the initiative to discuss the future not only of the group of sculptures in the park but also of other colonial representations in the municipality of Tervuren with the relevant authorities.

We hope that this message shows our support for the anti-racism movement and we regret that we have hurt people with some of our messages.

 

Are there human remains in the museum’s collections?

The RMCA preserves two mummies, which ended up in the museum collection in the 1930s via the Ministry of the Colonies. It concerns two men whose bodies were naturally mummified. They were examined for the first time in 2000. The researchers were unable to determine exactly how old the bodies are but were able to find out that they were shepherds from the Kivu region. They would have died in a cave between the 17th and 19th centuries.

In 1964, the museum closed its department of physical anthropology. The skulls and other human remains that were preserved there were transferred to the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences. They are still there today.

Currently, the museum still preserves some human remains that have been incorporated into the ethnographic collections. It concerns, for example, musical instruments whose sound box consists of a skullcap, and a horn that has a piece of jawbone attached to it.

 

What is the “Charte de l’impérialisme” ?

A ‘Charte de l’impérialisme’, also called a ‘Charter of Slavery’ has been circulating on social networks for a long time. According to some authors and internet users, the AfricaMuseum is in possession of this ‘confidential’ document. It is, however, a hoax.

The charter was reportedly drafted in Washington in the era of slavery. The Western powers are said to have negotiated it discretely during the Berlin Conference, in 1885, and to have discussed it again after the First and Second World Wars. In the charter, the Western countries are said to have committed themselves ‘to the exploitation of poor countries and the slaughter of their inhabitants’. They are also said to have decided that ‘their leaders will never be prosecuted for any of the crimes that they commit all over the world’.

The document, however, raises many questions. It is anonymous: neither the authors, nor its precise origins are known. It is not original: only copies of it have been distributed. A charter is an official document that, in principle, is only valid if it is signed by one or more persons; that is not the case here. Moreover, the charter is said to have been negotiated several times and in different locations. Variants of the original text should therefore exist in the archives of the countries or institutions involved, but this is also not the case. No professional historian has ever referenced the document. It is, moreover, surprising that a document apparently written during the slave trade should only have surfaced in the 21st century...

The content of the document is problematic as well. It contains numerous improbabilities, anachronisms, and sentence constructions that are not common in diplomatic language. A few examples: the term ‘third world’, which recurs throughout the text, was only introduced in 1952 by the French demographer and economist Albert Sauvy; the concept ‘genocide’, which also occurs in the text, was only used for the first time in 1943, by the Polish lawyer Raphael Lemkin; and also the terms ‘economic development assistance’, and ‘weapons of mass destruction’ were not in use before the second half of the 20th century. Furthermore, the charter expresses a generalizing, even simplistic vision that appears to stem from a radical, vengeful hostility to ‘the West’. Its purpose remains unclear.

The document, which is grossly misused by some to spread unrest among ill-informed people, is false, or fake news. It belongs in the corner of conspiracy theories and is based on other fictitious documents, such as the Protocols of the Elders of Zion, a notorious anti-Semitic forgery from the early 20th century. It is, moreover, not the only fake document about the early years of colonialism to be found on the internet. For example, a similar text, entitled Discours du Roi Léopold II à l'arrivée des premiers missionnaires au Congo en 1883, has been circulating for several years.

It is therefore entirely unbelievable to think that the AfricaMuseum would have such a document in its possession. No single inventory makes mention of it. The historical archives that are preserved in the museum can be consulted online or by making a simple request.

Points de vue et idées reçues

Quelle est aujourd’hui la position du musée à l’égard de la colonisation ?

Le colonialisme est une forme de gouvernance qui repose sur l’occupation militaire, sur une administration autoritaire et raciste, et sur l’exploitation. Aussi le musée tient-il explicitement à s’en distancier. Il assume sa responsabilité quant à l’impact que la propagande qu’il a menée autrefois pour le colonialisme a eu sur la société multiculturelle d’aujourd’hui, et quant au message de supériorité morale et intellectuelle occidentale qu’il a promu dans le passé.

Le musée veut être un forum d'opinions et de points de vue sur la relation historique, actuelle et future avec l'Afrique centrale. À travers des articles d'opinion dans les médias belges, un certain nombre d'historiens ont fait un état des lieux intéressant de l'histoire coloniale :

 

Quel regard le musée porte-t-il sur le régime pratiqué par l’État indépendant du Congo ?

De 1885 à 1908, le roi Léopold II était le souverain absolu de l’État indépendant du Congo. Il utilisait la région comme un territoire conquis capitaliste. L’exploitation du caoutchouc et de l’ivoire, en particulier, s’est accompagnée de violences excessives. Les guerres de conquête, l’exploitation, le travail forcé, les expéditions punitives, les déplacements de population, la désarticulation de l’agriculture, les épidémies et l’introduction de maladies inconnues jusqu’alors ont coûté la vie à d’innombrables Congolais. En outre, la natalité s’est effondrée. À défaut de données précises, il est difficile de connaître le nombre exact de victimes de l’État indépendant du Congo, mais le déficit démographique total s’élève à plusieurs centaines de milliers, voire à quelques millions si l’on en croit les estimations récentes d’historiens belges et congolais. Certains parlent même d’un tiers de la population totale.

 

Black Lives Matter

Statement du musée, 11 juin 2020

Le 3 juin dernier, l’AfricaMuseum a annoncé son soutien au mouvement #BlackLivesMatter à travers ses réseaux sociaux ainsi qu’à l’entrée du musée. En effet, le musée a été créé en 1898 comme une institution scientifique pour la diffusion de la propagande coloniale et le soutien des activités coloniales de la Belgique. Le musée a longtemps transmis des messages de suprématie occidentale, profondément ancrés dans le racisme. Nous le reconnaissons, nous l’assumons et nous estimons que la lutte contre le racisme fait partie de notre propre processus de décolonisation. Nous considérons le colonialisme comme un système de gouvernance immoral, basé sur l’occupation militaire d’un pays, une gouvernance autoritaire et raciste, et une exploitation des richesses d’un pays au profit du colonisateur.

Néanmoins, notre message de soutien au mouvement #BlackLivesMatter a rapidement été condamné par plusieurs activistes, qui le jugeaient hypocrite. Certains estimaient même que nous nous étions approprié un combat qui ne nous appartient pas, ce qui n’était évidemment pas notre intention. Nous regrettons que cette action ait heurté certaines personnes.
Nous sommes bien conscients que, de par son histoire, le musée a joué un rôle important dans la construction de préjugés sur les Africains en Belgique et en Europe. Aujourd’hui, nous estimons que le musée représente un potentiel immense en tant qu’outil de sensibilisation et en tant que forum de débat sur des thèmes fondamentaux de notre société tels que le racisme et son ancrage dans l’histoire et la propagande coloniales. Ces sujets sont des thématiques majeures de notre exposition permanente et font régulièrement l’objet d’événements au musée.

Nous sommes également conscients que le musée conserve dans ses collections des objets dont il n’est pas le propriétaire moral. Une partie des collections du musée a été acquise dans un contexte de violence, d’injustice et d’inégalité de pouvoir, notamment lors de la période de l’État indépendant du Congo. Cette histoire est également racontée dans notre exposition permanente et nous participons activement aux débats en cours sur la restitution du patrimoine culturel africain et au dialogue avec les acteurs africains concernés. Nous dialoguons de manière ouverte et constructive avec les représentants de la politique muséale et des autorités belges et africaines, ainsi qu’avec les Belges d’origine africaine. Notre politique de restitution est transparente et disponible sur notre site web. Dans ce cadre, nous avons également développé un programme de résidence pour que des scientifiques africains indépendants mènent des recherches sur les circonstances dans lesquelles ces collections ont été acquises. Le musée dispose également d’un code éthique strict pour l’organisation d’événements.

Nous tenons aussi à rappeler que l’ensemble de statues, au milieu desquelles un buste de Léopold II, et qui se trouve en face du musée, ne relève pas de notre compétence, mais de celle de la gestion du parc. Néanmoins, le musée a entamé, depuis le début du 21e siècle, un processus de décolonisation et il nous semble essentiel de contextualiser les statues de personnages controversés de la période coloniale, comme Léopold II. Dans ce contexte, nous encourageons les autorités locales à engager un dialogue avec les communautés pour lesquelles ces statues représentent un symbole fort et douloureux de la période coloniale. Ainsi, le musée prend l’initiative de discuter de l’avenir non seulement du groupe de sculptures dans le parc mais aussi d’autres représentations coloniales dans la commune de Tervuren avec les autorités compétentes.

Nous espérons que ce message témoigne de notre soutien au mouvement contre le racisme et nous regrettons que nos publications aient heurté certains d’entre vous.

 

Quelle est la position du musée à l’égard de la restitution du patrimoine culturel africain ?

La plus grande partie du patrimoine artistique africain se trouve dans des musées et collections privées occidentaux.
Les collections du MRAC ont également été constituées en grande partie pendant la période coloniale. Ce fait pose inévitablement la question de la manière dont elles ont été acquises, et donc de celle d’une restitution éventuelle à leur pays d’origine. Le musée prend part, avec un esprit ouvert et constructif, aux débats menés à ce propos et n’esquive pas les discussions concernant l’avenir du patrimoine culturel africain en Europe.

Entre 1976 et 1982, le MRAC a transféré 114 objets ethnographiques à l’Institut des Musées Nationaux du Zaïre à Kinshasa. Nous avons également transféré quelque 600 objets au Musée national du Rwanda à Butare.

Le MRAC n’a pas reçu récemment de demande formelle de restitution mais est disposé à entamer un dialogue à ce propos avec les musées nationaux des pays concernés. Il a des accords de coopération avec les musées nationaux de la RD Congo et du Rwanda, ainsi qu’avec le Musée des Civilisations noires à Dakar. Actuellement, le musée développe une politique en vue de faciliter l’accès des musées africains à ses collections. Il numérise le patrimoine culturel tel que les archives, photos et films et le transférera sous cette forme aux pays concernés. Par ailleurs, le musée intensifie l’étude de la provenance des objets susceptibles d’avoir été acquis de manière illégitime.

Lisez le point de vue du Conseil de Direction du MRAC sur la restitution.

 

Les collections du musée contiennent-elles des restes humains ?

Le MRAC conserve deux momies arrivées dans ses collections dans les années 1930 par le biais du Ministère des Colonies. Il s’agit de deux hommes dont le corps a été momifié de manière naturelle. Ils ont été étudiés pour la première fois en l’an 2000. Les chercheurs n’ont pas pu établir l’âge exact des corps mais ont pu déterminer qu’il s’agit de bergers de la région du Kivu décédés entre le 17e et le 19e siècle dans une grotte.

En 1964, le département d’anthropologie physique du musée a été fermé. Les crânes et autres restes humains qui y étaient conservés ont alors été transférés à l’Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique où ils se trouvent toujours aujourd’hui. Actuellement, le musée conserve encore quelques restes humains intégrés dans des collections ethnographiques. Il s’agit par exemple d’instruments de musique dont la caisse de résonance se compose d’une voûte crânienne, et d’une corne à laquelle un morceau de mâchoire est attaché.

 

Qu’est-ce que la « Charte de l’impérialisme » ?

Depuis quelque temps, il circule sur les réseaux sociaux une « Charte de l’impérialisme ». Si l’on en croit certains auteurs et internautes, l’AfricaMuseum disposerait de ce document « confidentiel ». Il s’agit toutefois d’un faux.

La charte aurait été établie à Washington à l’époque de l’esclavage. Lors de la conférence de Berlin en 1885, les puissances occidentales l’auraient négocié en toute discrétion. Après les Première et Seconde Guerres mondiales, ils auraient de nouveau discuté de ce document. Dans cette charte, les pays occidentaux se seraient engagés « à exploiter les pays pauvres et à massacrer leurs habitants ». Ils auraient également décidé que « leurs dirigeants ne peuvent être poursuivis pour tous les crimes qu’ils commettent dans le monde entier ».

Le document suscite toutefois bon nombre de questions. Il est anonyme : on n’en connaît ni les auteurs ni l’origine exacte. Il n’est pas original : seules des copies en ont été diffusées. Une charte est un document officiel qui n’a en principe de valeur juridique que lorsqu’il est signé par une ou plusieurs personnes ; ce n’est pas le cas. De plus, la charte aurait fait l’objet de négociations répétées et à divers endroits. Il devrait donc exister des variantes du texte original dans les archives des pays et institutions concernés, or il n’en est rien. Aucun historien professionnel n’a jamais mentionné le document. Il est en outre surprenant qu’un document supposé établi à l’époque de l’esclavage ne surgisse qu’au 21e siècle…

Le contenu du document pose problème également. Il contient nombre d’invraisemblances, d’anachronismes et de constructions de phrases inhabituelles dans un langage protocolaire, diplomatique. Quelques exemples : la notion de « tiers-monde », qui figure à plusieurs reprises dans le texte, n’a été introduite qu’en 1952 par le démographe et économiste français Albert Sauvy ; le concept de « génocide », qui figure également dans le texte, n’a été utilisé pour la première fois qu’en 1943, par l’avocat polonais Raphael Lemkin ; et les termes « aide économique au développement », « armes de destruction massive » et « leaders » n’ont pas été utilisés avant la seconde moitié du 20e siècle. De plus, il se dégage de cette charte une vision généralisée, voire simpliste qui semble émaner d’une hostilité radicale, vengeresse, à l’égard de « l’Occident ». Son objectif demeure nébuleux.

Ce document, que certains utilisent pour semer le trouble auprès des personnes mal informées, est donc un faux et relève des « fake news ». Il rejoint les théories du complot et est fondé sur d’autres documents fictifs, tels que les Protocoles des Sages de Sion, un faux antisémite bien connu du début du 20e siècle. Il n’est d’ailleurs pas le seul faux concernant le début du colonialisme à circuler sur internet. Ainsi, on y trouve depuis quelques années un texte similaire intitulé Discours du Roi Léopold II à l’arrivée des premiers missionnaires au Congo en 1883.

Il est donc totalement impensable que l’AfricaMuseum puisse posséder un tel document. Aucun inventaire n’en fait mention. Les archives historiques conservées au musée peuvent être consultées en ligne ou sur simple demande.