The human zoo of Tervuren (1897)

AfricaMuseum traces its origins to the International Exhibition in Brussels in 1897. At the instigation of King Leopold II, a ‘Colonial Section’ was set up in Tervuren to win over investors and the Belgian population and glean support for the colonial project in Congo. No fewer than 267 Congolese were taken by force to Belgium and exhibited to the public, like animals in a zoo. Seven of them lost their lives. Far from being an isolated case, this appalling spectacle was part of a genuine industry that fed the racism still seen in Western societies today.

""

HP.1946.1058.1-32, collection MRAC Tervuren ; photo A. Gautier, 1897

Propaganda for the colonial project

The 1897 Brussels International Exhibition took place from 10 May to 8 November 1897.

On this occasion, King Leopold II had the ‘Colonial Palace’ (now the Africa Palace) built in Tervuren on the site of the former pavilion of the Prince of Orange, which had been destroyed by fire in 1879.

Fitted out in art nouveau style, the exhibition rooms of the Colonial Palace housed mounted animals, geological samples, Congolese and European economic products, foodstuffs, Congolese ethnographic and artistic objects, and works of art made in Belgium.

Leopold II viewed this colonial section as a propaganda tool for his colonial project, one that would attract investors and convince the Belgian population of its importance.

In addition to the Colonial Palace, numerous attractions were installed in the park of Tervuren, including a monorail (reaching a top speed of 150 km/h), a hippodrome, a velodrome, and a sports field where athletics and gymnastics competitions were held.

The Avenue de Tervuren and the tram line connecting the Cinquantenaire park to the Tervuren park were also built for the occasion.

Pictures of the exhibition in the Colonial Palace:

Congolese ‘villages’

In the Tervuren park, three fenced ‘villages’ were created near the ponds: two ‘Bangala villages’ and one ‘Mayombe village’. A total of 267 Congolese men, women and children were forced to come and occupy these villages.

Among the Congolese sent to Belgium were 90 soldiers from the Force Publique (an armed force composed of ‘natives’, performing police and army functions for the Congo Free State). They had to perform in concerts and parades for the public.

In the park was a fourth village, the ‘village of Gijzegem’, named after the Flemish commune where Abbot Van Impe ‘educated’ and ‘civilised’ young Congolese people. This abbot wanted to show and promote his 'civilising' work, proving that it was possible to educate the colonised.

A heavily criticised success

By the end of the international exhibition, the colonial section of Tervuren alone had attracted more than a million visitors.

Although the exhibition took place from 10 May to 8 November, peak visitor numbers occurred between 27 June and 30 August, which corresponds not just to the summer months but also to the dates of arrival and departure of the Congolese. Visitors sometimes numbered as many as 40,000 per day.

Nevertheless, as soon as the Congolese arrived, some observers criticised the event and the behaviour of the visitors. For example, Le National wrote on 10 July 1897:

Ils sont là, nos futures frères noirs […], étroitement gardés par leurs propres frères à eux – nos vaillantes troupes d’Afrique – […] annexionnistes trop zélés. Ils sont là, bénéficiant d’un décor merveilleux, donnant l’impression, dans leur vie en plein, - réglée comme pour un spectacle forain – d’un Congo de fantaisie avec des simili-villages créés pour faire pendant au Palais de la Réclame Noire, en face.

[There they are, our future black brothers [...], closely guarded by their own brothers - our valiant African troops - [...] overzealous annexationists. They are there, benefiting from a marvellous décor, giving the impression, in their life in the middle of it, - set up as if for a fairground show - of a fantasy Congo with pseudo-villages created as a counterpart to the Palace of Black Advertising, opposite.]

The author concludes his article with these words:

Il y a même quelque-chose de passablement dégradant pour l’humanité, à voir ces malheureux ainsi parqués, livrés aux réflexions parfois navrantes et dégradantes aussi, des blancs qui accourent au nouveau spectacle.

[There is even something quite degrading for humanity, to see these unfortunate people parked like this, left to the sometimes distressing and degrading reflections of the white people who are rushing to the new show.]

The ‘Congolese villages’ in Tervuren:

A deadly exhibition

The summer of 1897 was cold and wet. Kept in deplorable conditions, many of the Congolese fell ill. Seven of them died during the exhibition. Their names, no doubt incomplete, were noted: Sambo, Mpemba, Ngemba, Ekia, Nzau, Kitukwa, and Mibange.

Following their deaths, their bodies were refused for interment in the local cemetery. Instead, they were buried in unconsecrated ground, destined for adulterers and suicides. It was not until 1953 that their bodies were moved to burial grounds in the courtyard of the Catholic Church of St. John the Evangelist in Tervuren. Nowadays, a day of commemoration is organised every year for the 7 deceased.

Tombs of Sambo, Mpemba, Ngemba, Ekia, Nzau, Kitukwa and Mibange, who died during the exhibition.

The death of the Congolese triggered a controversy in Belgian society which was widely reported in the press.

For the organisers, the Colonial Section of Tervuren nevertheless remained a great success and in 1898 the Colonial Palace was transformed into a permanent museum of the Congo. Very soon the building proved too small. Leopold II then called on the French architect Charles Girault and planned the construction of a new Congo museum, a world school, a congress centre, a railway station, etc. In the end, only the museum was built, inaugurated in 1910 by Albert I, a few months after the death of Leopold II. It is the current building of the AfricaMuseum.

Not an isolated case

The human zoo of Tervuren was part of a Western culture of exoticism. These exhibitions of the "Other" began in Europe in the middle of the 19th century. Fairs, circuses, cabarets, universal or colonial exhibitions, itinerant villages: exoticism was all the rage in Belgium, France, the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, Germany, Switzerland, Italy, Spain, Austria, but also in the United States.

In Belgium, the first colonial exhibition was organised in Antwerp in 1885. A ‘Negro village’ was created, presenting 12 Africans from Congo, Zanzibar, and Portuguese colonies to the public.

In 1894, a new world exhibition was held in Antwerp, this time showing 144 Congolese in an ‘exotic’ setting. Eight people died during the exhibition.

One of the reasons for the success of these ‘shows’ was that the organisers presented them from a civilising perspective. The aim was to show that Europe had a duty to bring civilisation to these ‘savages’. Human zoos reinforced this idea in public opinion.

By presenting dark-skinned people as inferior, the West wanted to show its superiority and burnish its own image.

Expo 58

Another ‘Congolese village’ was built for Expo ‘58 in Brussels. The exhibition area reserved for the Congo was enormous. Belgium wanted to promote its achievements and justify its presence in the Congo at a time when calls for independence were making themselves heard.

More than 600 Congolese arrived in Belgium and during the day, 120 of them were exhibited in the ‘Tropical Gardens’. At night, they were housed in the CAPA building (Centre d'Accueil pour le Personnel Africain) in Tervuren, far away from the city and its temptations. The CAPA building now houses some of the museum's libraries, collections, laboratories and offices.

But the presence of this village and the racist and humiliating behaviour of the visitors shocked and provoked controversy and complaint, especially from Congolese students and intellectuals living in Belgium. Many of the ‘craftsmen’ decide to leave the village, which closed well before the end of the exhibition.

Expo 58 also claimed a Congolese victim. Eight-month-old baby Juste Bonaventure Langa died during Expo 58. The cause of his death is unknown. He rests in the Tervuren cemetery.

Pictures of Brussels Expo 58:

Tomb of Juste Bonaventure Langa, in the Tervuren cemetery. Born on 26 September 1957 in Leopoldville (Kinshasa), he died on 22 May 1958 in Leuven, during the Expo 58. On his grave is a marble plaque bearing the inscription "Exposition Universelle 1958 / Congo pense à toi".

A bygone era?

In total, this veritable exoticism industry reached nearly 1.5 billion visitors between 1810 and 1940, exhibiting more than 30,000 people. The presence of these exhibitions in popular culture undoubtedly contributed to the racism that can still be seen in Western societies today.

Unfortunately these extremely degrading and racist practices still exist. In 2002, an event organised in Yvoir in Belgium triggered a controversy, as it was so reminiscent of human zoos. In the Rainforest Park, where animals are usually exhibited, a group of Baka Pygmies from Cameroon were invited to perform dances and songs for visitors to the park.

Even today, many TV shows still exhibit ‘wild tribes’. Has the thirst for exoticism and voyeurism of the Other really disappeared?


This article was largely based on two publications:

  • Blanchard, P. & Couttenier, M. 2016. ‘Les zoos humains en Belgique’. Zoos humains. L'invention du sauvage. Liège : Centre d'Action Laïque de la Province de Liège, pp. 35-44.
  • Wynants, M. 1997. ‘Des ducs de Brabant aux villages congolais, Tervuren et l'exposition coloniale de 1897’. Royal Museum for Central Africa.

See also:

  • “Boma-Tervuren, le voyage”, 1999 documentary by Francis Dujardin.
  • Van Beurden, Sarah. ‘“Un panorama de nos valeurs africaines”. Belgisch Congo op Expo 58’. In Congo in België. Koloniale cultuur in de metropool, edited by Bambi Ceuppens, Vincent Viane, and David Van Reybrouck, 299–311. Alfred Cauchie Reeks. Leuven: Universitaire Pers Leuven, 2009.

Le zoo humain de Tervuren (1897)

L’origine de l’AfricaMuseum remonte à l’exposition universelle de Bruxelles en 1897. Sous l’impulsion du roi Léopold II, une « Section coloniale » est organisée à Tervuren, destinée à convaincre la population belge et les investisseurs de son projet colonial au Congo. Pas moins de 267 Congolais sont emmenés de force en Belgique et exhibés au public, tels des animaux dans un zoo. Sept d’entre eux y laissent leur vie. Ce funeste spectacle est loin d’être un cas isolé. Il fait partie d’une véritable industrie qui a contribué au racisme que l’on observe encore aujourd’hui dans les sociétés occidentales.

""

HP.1946.1058.1-32, collection MRAC Tervuren ; photo A. Gautier, 1897

Une propagande pour le projet colonial

L’exposition internationale de Bruxelles de 1897 se déroule du 10 mai au 8 novembre 1897.

À cette occasion, le roi Léopold II fait construire à Tervuren le « Palais des Colonies » (aujourd’hui Palais de l’Afrique) sur l’emplacement de l’ancien pavillon du prince d’Orange, qu’un incendie avait détruit en 1879.

Aménagées en style art-nouveau, les salles d’exposition du Palais des Colonies accueillaient des animaux naturalisés, des échantillons géologiques, des produits économiques congolais et européens, des denrées, des objets ethnographiques et artistiques congolais et des objets d’art réalisés en Belgique.

Léopold II voyait dans cette section coloniale un outil de propagande pour son projet colonial, destiné à attirer des investisseurs et à convaincre la population belge.

Outre le Palais des Colonies, de nombreuses attractions sont installées dans le parc de Tervuren : un monorail (atteignant une vitesse de pointe de 150 km/h), un hippodrome, un vélodrome, une « Plaine des Jeux » où se déroulaient des concours d’athlétisme et de gymnastique, etc.

L’avenue de Tervuren et la ligne de tram reliant le Cinquantenaire au parc de Tervuren ont également été construites à cette occasion.

Photos de l’exposition présentée dans le Palais des Colonies :

Des « villages » congolais

Dans le parc de Tervuren, trois « villages » clôturés sont implantés près des étangs : deux « villages bangala » et un « village mayombe ». Au total, on fait venir de force 267 Congolais – hommes, femmes et enfants – pour occuper ces villages. Le voyage est long et pénible. Deux Congolais meurent durant la traversée.

Parmi les Congolais expédiés en Belgique, on compte 90 soldats de la Force publique (force armée composée « d’indigènes », exerçant les fonctions de police et de l’armée de l’État indépendant du Congo). Ils exécutent des concerts et des défilés pour le public.

Dans le parc se trouvait un quatrième village, le « village de Gijzegem », du nom de la commune flamande où l’abbé Van Impe « éduquait » et « civilisait » de jeunes Congolais. Cet abbé désirait montrer et promouvoir son œuvre « civilisatrice », prouvant qu’il était possible d’instruire les colonisés.

Un succès énorme… déjà critiqué

Au terme de l’exposition universelle, la section coloniale de Tervuren a attiré à elle seule plus d’un million de visiteurs, selon les chiffres rendus publics.

Si l’exposition universelle s’est déroulée du 10 mai au 8 novembre, les pics de fréquentation ont lieu entre le 27 juin et le 30 août, ce qui correspond aux mois d’été, mais aussi aux dates d’arrivée et de départ des Congolais. Le nombre de visiteurs s’élevait parfois à 40 000 par jour.

Néanmoins, dès l’arrivée des Congolais, certains critiquent l’événement et le comportement des visiteurs. Par exemple, Le National écrit le 10 juillet 1897 :

Ils sont là, ‘nos futurs frères noirs’ […], étroitement gardés par leurs propres frères à eux – ‘nos vaillantes troupes d’Afrique’ – […] annexionnistes trop zélés. Ils sont là, bénéficiant d’un décor merveilleux, donnant l’impression, dans leur vie en plein, – réglée comme pour un spectacle forain – d’un Congo de fantaisie avec des simili-villages créés pour faire pendant au Palais de la Réclame Noire [allusion au Palais des Colonies], en face.

L’auteur conclut son article en ces termes :

Il y a même quelque-chose de passablement dégradant pour l’humanité, à voir ces malheureux ainsi parqués, livrés aux réflexions parfois navrantes et dégradantes aussi, des blancs qui accourent au nouveau spectacle.

Les « villages congolais » à Tervuren :

Une exhibition meurtrière

L’été 1897 est froid et humide et étant donné les conditions déplorables dans lesquelles sont maintenus les Congolais, beaucoup tombent malades. Sept d’entre eux meurent pendant l’exposition. Leurs noms, sans doute incomplets, sont notés : Sambo, Mpemba, Ngemba, Ekia, Nzau, Kitukwa et Mibange.

Suite à leur décès, il est refusé que leurs corps soient enterrés dans le cimetière local. Ils sont alors inhumés en terre non consacrée, réservée aux adultères et aux suicidés. Ce n’est qu’en 1953 que leurs corps sont déplacés dans des sépultures situées dans la cour de l’Église catholique Saint-Jean l’Évangéliste de Tervuren. De nos jours, une journée de commémoration est organisée chaque année pour les 7 défunts.

Tombes de Sambo, Mpemba, Ngemba, Ekia, Nzau, Kitukwa et Mibange, décédés pendant l'exposition.

Le décès des Congolais déclenche une polémique dans la société belge, largement relayée dans la presse.

Pour les organisateurs, la Section coloniale de Tervuren reste néanmoins un grand succès et le Palais des Colonies est transformé, en 1898, en un musée permanent du Congo. Très vite, le bâtiment s’avère trop petit. Léopold II fait alors appel à l’architecte français Charles Girault et prévoit la construction d’un nouveau musée du Congo, d’une école mondiale, d’un centre de congrès, d’une gare, etc. Finalement, seul le musée sera construit, inauguré en 1910 par Albert Ier, quelques mois après la mort de Léopold II. C’est le bâtiment actuel de l’AfricaMuseum.

Tervuren n’est pas un cas isolé

Le zoo humain de Tervuren s’inscrit dans une culture occidentale de l’exotisme. Ces exhibitions de « l’Autre » commencent en Europe dès le milieu du 19e S. Foires, cirques, cabarets, expositions universelles ou coloniales, villages itinérants, … la mode de l’exotisme s’affirme dans divers espaces en Belgique, en France, au Royaume-Uni, aux Pays-Bas, en Allemagne, en Suisse, en Italie, en Espagne, en Autriche, mais aussi aux États-Unis.

En Belgique, la première exhibition coloniale est organisée à Anvers en 1885. Un « village nègre » est alors créé présentant au public 12 Africains, originaires du Congo, de Zanzibar et des colonies portugaises.

En 1894, une nouvelle exposition universelle organisée à Anvers exhibe cette fois 144 Congolais dans un décor « exotique ». Huit personnes meurent durant l'exposition.

Le succès de ces « spectacles » s’explique notamment par le fait que les organisateurs les intègrent dans une optique civilisatrice. Il s’agit de montrer que l’Europe se doit d’apporter la civilisation à ces « sauvages ». L’organisation de zoos humains renforce cette idée au sein de l’opinion publique.

En présentant les personnes de peau foncée comme étant inférieures, l’Occident voulait montrer sa supériorité et redorer sa propre image.

Expo 58

Un « village congolais » est également construit pour l’Expo 58 à Bruxelles. La surface d’exposition réservée au Congo est alors énorme. Il s’agit pour la Belgique de promouvoir ses réalisations et de justifier sa présence au Congo, alors même que résonnent les échos de l’indépendance.

Plus de 600 Congolais arrivent en Belgique et, la journée, 120 d’entre eux sont exhibés dans les « Jardins tropicaux ». La nuit, ils sont logés dans le bâtiment CAPA (Centre d’Accueil pour le Personnel africain) à Tervuren, loin de la ville et ses tentations. La bâtiment CAPA abrite aujourd’hui collections, laboratoires, bureaux et la bibliothèque centrale du musée.

Mais la présence de ce village et le comportement raciste et humiliant des visiteurs choquent et provoquent polémiques et plaintes, notamment de la part d’étudiants et d’intellectuels congolais vivant en Belgique. Une grande partie des « artisans » décide de quitter le village, qui ferme bien avant la fin de l’exposition.

L’Expo 58 fera, elle-aussi, une victime congolaise. Juste Bonaventure Langa meurt durant l’Expo 58, alors qu’il n’avait que 8 mois. La cause de son décès est inconnue. Il est enterré dans le cimetière de Tervuren.

Images de l'Expo 58 de Bruxelles :

Tombe de Juste Bonaventure Langa, dans le cimetière de Tervuren. Né le 26 septembre 1957 à Léopoldville (Kinshasa), il meurt le 22 mai 1958 à Louvain, durant l’Expo 58. Sur sa tombe se trouve une plaque de marbre portant l’inscription « Exposition Universelle 1958 / Congo pense à toi ».

Une époque révolue ?

Au total, cette véritable industrie de l’exotisme aura touché près de 1,5 milliard de visiteurs entre 1810 et 1940, exhibant plus de 30 000 personnes. La culture de masse qu’ont représentées ces exhibitions a sans doute contribué au racisme que l’on observe encore aujourd’hui dans les sociétés occidentales.

Malheureusement, ces pratiques extrêmement dégradantes et racistes existent encore aujourd'hui. En 2002, un événement organisé à Yvoir en Belgique déclenche une polémique, tant il rappelle les zoos humains. Dans le parc Rainforest, où sont habituellement exposés des animaux, un groupe de Pygmées bakas du Cameroun est invité à effectuer des danses et des chants pour les visiteurs du parc.

Aujourd’hui encore, de nombreuses émissions télé exhibent des « tribus sauvages ». La soif de l’exotisme et le voyeurisme de l’Autre ont-ils réellement disparu?


Cet article a en grande partie été rédigé sur base de deux publications :

  • Blanchard, P. & Couttenier, M. 2016. ‘Les zoos humains en Belgique’. Zoos humains. L'invention du sauvage. Liège : Centre d'Action Laïque de la Province de Liège, pp. 35-44.
  • Wynants, M. 1997. ‘Des ducs de Brabant aux villages congolais, Tervuren et l'exposition coloniale de 1897’. Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale.

Voir aussi :

  • “Boma-Tervuren, le voyage”, 1999 documentaire réalisé par Francis Dujardin.
  • Van Beurden, Sarah. ‘“Un panorama de nos valeurs africaines”. Belgisch Congo op Expo 58’. In Congo in België. Koloniale cultuur in de metropool, edited by Bambi Ceuppens, Vincent Viane, and David Van Reybrouck, 299–311. Alfred Cauchie Reeks. Leuven: Universitaire Pers Leuven, 2009.