Have the Lungs of our Planet been pushed to their limits?

MuseumTalks

Wannes Hubau

Intact tropical forests captured 15% of our carbon dioxide emissions over the early 2000s, storing it in wood and other forms of biomass. However, the capacity of Amazonian forests to capture excess carbon from the atmosphere is waning. In this MuseumTalk, we learn how the African tropical forest ‘carbon sink’ is evolving and whether we have pushed ‘The Lungs of our Planet’ to their very limits.

""

 

About the speaker

Wannes Hubau explores tropical African vegetation responses to climate change at several timescales. He obtained his PhD at Ghent University in 2013 and conducted post-doctoral research at Leeds University, the Wood Biology Service of the AfricaMuseum and Ghent University. He led numerous field expeditions in four African countries (Liberia, Ghana, Cameroon, DR Congo).

 


MuseumTalks

Join us each month for an exciting talk about one particular aspect of the permanent exhibition! Take a look behind the scenes of the AfricaMuseum and discover the work of its scientists and its collaboration with African artists.

> All MuseumTalks

 

12.30 - 13.30

Foyer, on level -1 of the Welcome Pavilion (building A on the map)

Language
English
Price

Free, just drop in

Have the Lungs of our Planet been pushed to their limits?

MuseumTalks

Wannes Hubau

Au début des années 2000, les forêts tropicales intactes ont capturé 15 % de nos émissions de CO2. Ces forêts stockent le carbone en produisant du bois et d’autres formes de biomasse. Cependant, la capacité des forêts amazoniennes à capturer l'excès de carbone de l'atmosphère diminue. Dans ce MuseumTalk, nous découvrons comment le « puits de carbone » des forêts tropicales africaines évolue et si nous avons poussé les « poumons de notre planète » à leurs limites.

""

 

À propos de l'orateur

Wannes Hubau explore les réponses de la végétation tropicale africaine face aux changements climatiques, et ce à plusieurs échelles de temps. Il a obtenu son doctorat à l'Université de Gand en 2013 et a mené des recherches post-doctorales à l'Université de Leeds, au service de Biologie du bois de l'AfricaMuseum et à l'Université de Gand. Il a dirigé de nombreuses expéditions sur le terrain dans quatre pays africains (Liberia, Ghana, Cameroun, RD Congo).

 


MuseumTalks

Rendez-vous chaque mois pour une présentation passionnante sur un aspect de l’exposition permanente ! Découvrez les coulisses de l’AfricaMuseum, le travail de ses scientifiques et sa collaboration avec des artistes africains.

> Tous les MuseumTalks

 

12h30 - 13h30

Foyer, au niveau -1 du pavillon d'accueil (bâtiment A sur le plan)

Langue
En anglais
Prix

Entrée libre