Make a bequest

If you hold the African continent dear and if you also share a deep appreciation for the cultural and natural diversity and glorious human dynamism of Central Africa, why not make a donation or bequest to the AfricaMuseum? Regardless of the amount, you can indicate how you wish for it to be used by the institution: for knowledge dissemination, museum activities, or scientific research.

In Belgium, it is still uncommon to contribute to a good cause via wills and testaments. To help address any misgivings, we work with Testament.be. Their specialists are always ready to provide free and confidential advice on what suits your situation best, and on the estate taxes you must keep in mind when drafting a will.

  • logo testament.beIf you would like to attend an information session organized by Testament.be, don’t hesitate to contact us so we can inform you of future dates and provide you with a ticket.

 

The Royal Museum for Central Africa (AfricaMuseum)’s areas of work

 

AfricaMuseum, one of the most-visited museums in Belgium, houses exceptionally diverse collections, but is above all a meeting place for people who are enthusiastic about the immense human richness of the African continent and the many possibilities for action that it inspires. The museum focuses its efforts on knowledge dissemination, with an active programme of school activities for pre-school, primary, and secondary school groups. One of the common threads in all museum activities is co-creation: in all its efforts, AfricaMuseum seeks out the collaboration of external partners and experts of African origin.

Some one hundred scientists work with African partners to carry out research centred on past and present African societies, and on the biodiversity and geology of the continent. They strive to promote the richness of this biodiversity, measure the impact of climate change, manage natural hazards and parasitic diseases, reduce the impact of insect pests on crops, and study the languages, culture, and heritage of Africa. With the help of archives, they attempt to reach a deeper and keener understanding of the colonial period.

Want to read more about us?
 

 

Make a bequest to AfricaMuseum

 

cover juridische gidsA legally valid will and testament naming AfricaMuseum as one of the beneficiaries is fairly easy to draft. Most wills are holographic. These are free, but their main drawback is that they can be lost or may contain formal errors that could prevent them from being executed. If you wish to ensure that a testament is drafted properly, you can ask a notary to assist you in drawing up your will.

You can obtain our legal guidebook containing abundant information on donations and bequests (in French or Dutch only). Send us an email with your contact details, and we will be happy to send you one at our expense. 

AfricaMuseum commits to using all amounts entrusted to it in a conscientious and professional manner.

  • If you would like additional information or wish to make an appointment to discuss the different possibilities at your disposal, please contact Kristien Opstaele.

Meetings can be held at your preferred location or on museum premises, with no implied commitment on your part, in full confidentiality. If you would like us to call you, please let us know when you will be available to talk.

 

When would you like us to contact you?

 

The AfricaMuseum account: 
IBAN: BE21 6792 0078 0603
BIC: PCHQBEBB

 

 

Contact:

Kristien OpstaeleKristien Opstaele 
Officer for Donations and Bequests

+32(0)2 769 52 98
Send an email

Dons et legs testamentaires

Si le continent africain vous tient à cœur et si, tout comme nous, vous vous sentez interpellé par la diversité culturelle et naturelle et la magnifique dynamique humaine de l’Afrique centrale, vous pouvez faire un don à l’Africamuseum ou l’inscrire parmi vos légataires testamentaires. Quelle que soit la somme que vous désirez transmettre, il vous est loisible de déterminer si vous souhaitez que cet argent serve, à travers l’institut, à la diffusion des connaissances, à des activités muséales ou à la recherche scientifique.

 

On constate que, dans notre pays, on recourt peu encore à la voie testamentaire pour servir les bonnes causes. Espérant dissiper les réticences que tout un chacun peut ressentir à l’idée de rédiger un testament, nous travaillons avec Testament.be dont les spécialistes sont toujours prêts, gratuitement et en toute discrétion, à fournir aux personnes des informations sur les nouveaux droits successoraux auxquels vous devez être attentifs si vous voulez établir un bon testament et savoir lequel convient à votre situation.

  • logo testament.beSi vous souhaitez participer à une session d’information organisée par Testament.be, faites-le-nous savoir, nous vous tiendrons informé des dates prochaines et vous fournirons un billet d’accès.

 

Les domaines d’activité du Musée royal de l’Afrique centrale (AfricaMuseum)

 

L’AfricaMuseum, l’un des musées les plus visités de Belgique, possède des collections d’une rare diversité, mais il est surtout un lieu de rencontre pour tous ceux qui se laissent enthousiasmer par l’immense richesse humaine du continent africain et toutes les possibilités d’action qu’il inspire. Le musée concentre ses efforts sur la diffusion des connaissances et adresse dans ce sens un programme actif d’activités scolaires aux classes de l’enseignement maternel, primaire et secondaire. L’un des fils rouges reliant l’ensemble des activités muséales est la co-création : dans tout ce que le musée entreprend, il recherche la collaboration de partenaires externes et d’experts d’origine africaine.

Une centaine de scientifiques réalisent, en s’associant à des partenaires africains, des travaux de recherche axés sur les sociétés africaines d’hier et d’aujourd’hui, et sur la biodiversité et la géologie du continent. Ils s’emploient à valoriser la richesse de cette biodiversité, à mesurer l’impact des changements climatiques, à gérer les risques naturels et les maladies parasitaires, à réduire les dommages causés par les insectes ravageurs dans l’agriculture et à comprendre les langues, la culture et le patrimoine africains ; par un travail d’archives, ils tentent d’atteindre une vision toujours plus approfondie et plus pointue de la période coloniale.

 

En savoir plus sur nous?
 

 

Faire un leg testamentaire à l’AfricaMuseum

 

cover guide juridiqueUn testament juridiquement valable citant l’AfricaMuseum parmi ses légataires est assez simple à réaliser. La plupart des testaments sont des testaments olographes. Ils sont gratuits, mais leur grand inconvénient est qu’ils peuvent se perdre ou présenter des vices de formes, courant ainsi le risque de ne pouvoir être exécutés. Ceux qui veulent avoir la certitude d’un testament rédigé dans les formes correctes peuvent le faire établir par un notaire.

Vous pouvez obtenir gratuitement notre guide juridique dans lequel vous trouverez de nombreuses informations quant à la réalisation d’un don ou d’un testament. Envoyez-nous un email comportant vos coordonnées et nous vous l’enverrons à nos frais.

L’AfricaMuseum s’engage à faire un usage consciencieux et professionnel des sommes qui lui sont confiées.

  • Si vous souhaitez un complément d’information, ou prendre un rendez-vous afin de parcourir avec nous et à tête reposée les différentes possibilités qui s’offrent à vous, veuillez prendre contact avec Kristien Opstaele.

Les entrevues peuvent se dérouler chez vous ou dans les locaux du musée, sans engagement de votre part bien sûr, et en toute discrétion. Si vous préférez que nous vous appelions, faites-nous savoir quand nous pouvons vous joindre.

 

Quand souhaitez-vous que nous vous contactions ?

   

N° de compte pour le versement de vos legs : 
IBAN : BE21 6792 0078 0603 
BIC : PCHQBEBB

 

 

Contact:

Kristien OpstaeleKristien Opstaele 
Responsable Dons et Legs testamentaires

+32(0)2 769 52 98
Envoyez un email